Saturday, December 19, 2009

Let’s All Work for Free - Yay!!

More and more these days, as creatives, we are asked to work on speculation, or for no money. You know, “Let’s see what you can do first, then if we like it, we will hire you.” Or, “There is no money now, but once we get it published, then you will be compensated.” “I can’t pay you, but you will get free advertising out of our arrangement.” I am truly sickened by this sort of thing. Chances are, if you are an illustrator, graphic designer, or the like, you have heard it at some point.

Well this guy, Harlan Ellison, who is a writer, and has written for many shows, including Babylon 5, Star Trek, etc., really hits it on the head here. He is referring to the writing business, but it really relates to any creative field. When I saw it, it really hit home, and I thought it would be great to share. I could not have said it better.

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

George Crum


George Crum - inventor of the potato chip.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Afro Omega


Reggae singer Afro Omega.

Friday, November 20, 2009

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Gig Photos





Here are a couple pics of me drawing at a recent gig. Using Crayola markers, with Prismacolor greys for shade.

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

The Black Crowes


A band I really enjoy - great live. Brothers Rich & Chris Robinson.

Friday, November 13, 2009

Erup


Reggae star Erup.

Monday, November 9, 2009

ISCA Con Artwork






Here are a few samples from my wall.

Back from the ISCA Con











Just got back form the Int’l Society of Caricature Artists Convention in Ohio, and boy, what a burst of inspiration it gave me. Can’t wait for the next one. Here are some photos of some of the incredible artwork that was produced there - just great stuff.

Friday, November 6, 2009

ISCA Con B-day sketch


Currently attending the Intl Society of Caricature Artists convention, in Sandusky Ohio. Really great convention - inspiring.
I had the pleasure of taking a seminar with master caricature artist, Jan Op de Beek, where we all drew Sally Field. Here is mine. Will be posting much more artwork soon!

Friday, October 16, 2009

New park samples



Here a couple new samples for the park, that I used some previously posted sketches, to work from.

Sunday, July 26, 2009

More Sketches




Here are some observational sketches (and some memory sketches), from the theme park. Also, more politicians.

Monday, July 6, 2009

Young MJ


Here goes one I did, for a park sample.

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Bye Bye Jacko


An incredible talent, no doubt.

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Friday, June 5, 2009

Twilight


Been a while. I have been pretty busy, but my hope is to post more regularly here. This is a sample for the theme park.

Monday, May 18, 2009

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Monday, May 11, 2009

Monday, April 27, 2009

Japanese Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi


Japanese Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi, an apparent Elvis nut.

Monday, April 20, 2009

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

MAD



I had the distinct pleasure of visiting the MAD offices and talking with Art Director
Sam Viviano, this past fall. Here are a few pics.

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Rocker


Time of the year for more new theme park samples. Did this one of Rainn Wilson as The Rocker. Put it up as a test and the kids knew who it was. But in looking at it now, I am thinking I could have pushed his head shape a lot more, as he has that huge cranium. As always, your thoughts and comments are welcome and appreciated!!